Capitalism, Jobs, and Western Civilization


Have work tonight. It’s got me thinking about the real world. It is time to find another job, perhaps more suitable for me. What that means I do not know. Anything is suitable really, if you make it. Perhaps I want to work in a field I am more interested in. But I am interested in so many fields. I need a job in order to sustain myself and to help my family, as well as to form an identity. To be honest this is what I am really getting at: the relationship between money and identity. Carl Jung argued it is the most important thing in protecting individuality — the western system of economics that allows individuals to sustain themselves through an economic system of supply and demand. The question we all ask is why must things work in this particular order in order for us to obtain the best possible society. Are capitalism and democracy the best systems? Why? Why not?

 

Leave a Reply

